Insulated Water Bottles & Tumblers
every insulated bottle and handled tumbler we've dug out of the bin, one row each. sort by leakproof to find the ones that can ride in a bag, or by cup holder fit to split the car cups from the desk cups.
| 7.2 A straw tumbler designed to survive a bag, but none of the lab roundups we read tested it against the leaders, so its edge is mostly on paper. | Handled tumbler | 40 oz | 24 h | With the lid locked; BrüMate rates it for cold drinks. | Yes | Yes Top rack. | Straw | |
| 6.0 Serious Eats liked the grippy handle and the cold retention, but it leaked around both the straw and the slider, and better tumblers cost less. | Handled tumbler | 40 oz | 20 h Also rated 9 h hot. 48°F after 16 hours in Serious Eats' test. | Yes | Hand wash only Per Corkcicle's care instructions. | Straw + sip | ||
| 8.2 OutdoorGearLab's best overall bottle thanks to the Flex Chug cap, though CNN's drop tests found Hydro Flask bodies dent more easily than YETI's. | Bottle | 24 oz | 24 h | Held all its water in OutdoorGearLab's 24-hour on-its-side test. | Yes Per OutdoorGearLab; Hydro Flask doesn't state it. | Yes | Chug | |
| 6.5 Serious Eats' pick for a silicone straw, but water dripped around its straw and the cheaper Simple Modern beat it on cold. | Handled tumbler | 40 oz | Not stated 51°F after 16 hours in Serious Eats' test. | Yes | Yes | Straw | ||
| 7.0 Amazon's breakout tumbler this year with a straw that seals shut, but the independent testing behind it is thin next to Stanley's or Owala's. | Handled tumbler | 40 oz | 24 h Also rated 6 h hot. | With the straw pushed down, per HydroJug. | Yes | Yes Top rack. | Flip straw | |
| 6.6 Water Bottle Advisor ranked its cold retention a surprising fourth, yet CNN called it middle of the pack: a fine bottle that doesn't stand out. | Bottle | 40 oz | 24 h Also rated 12 h hot. Fourth for cold in Water Bottle Advisor's 46-bottle test. | No Iron Flask says only its 18 and 22 oz sizes fit cup holders. | Lid only Iron Flask's care page says never to put the bottle in the dishwasher; lids are top-rack safe. | Straw Ships with straw, flip and steel lids. | ||
| 7.9 The bottle driving the trend for good reason, with a lid that sips and chugs, but its small carry loop and lock make it fussier than the Sway. | Bottle | 24 oz | 24 h Not for hot or carbonated drinks, per Owala. Water Bottle Advisor measured 52.7°F after 24 hours without ice. | No Didn't fit in OutdoorGearLab's testing. | Lid only Lid is dishwasher safe; Owala recommends hand-washing the bottle. | Straw + spout | ||
| 8.6 CNN Underscored and OutdoorGearLab both named it their favorite straw bottle, and its big handle and separate lock fix the original FreeSip's two annoyances. | Bottle | 30 oz | 24 h Not for hot or carbonated drinks, per Owala. | Yes CNN Underscored fit it in every cup holder of two test cars; OutdoorGearLab also calls it cup-holder friendly. | Lid only Lid is dishwasher safe; Owala recommends hand-washing the bottle. | Straw + spout | ||
| 7.5 Owala's sip-or-chug lid on a handled body, with a lid that actually locks, which most straw tumblers here don't even attempt. | Handled tumbler | 40 oz | 24 h | Yes | Lid only Lid is dishwasher safe; Owala recommends hand-washing the cup. | Straw + spout | ||
| 6.9 Keeps the famous Owala lid and takes hot drinks, but CNN found it can't be opened one-handed and its narrower mouth is harder to ice and clean. | Bottle | 24 oz | 24 h Rated for hot, cold and carbonated drinks. | Yes Owala and CNN Underscored both say it fits most cup holders. | Lid only Owala recommends hand-washing the bottle. | Straw + spout | ||
| 7.8 Water Bottle Advisor's runner-up for cold retention, beaten only by a classic Thermos, and the ceramic lining keeps old flavors from lingering. | Bottle | 26 oz | 24 h Second in Water Bottle Advisor's 46-bottle test (+11.5°F in 24 hours, no ice). Ceramic-lined. | Yes | Yes Lid and straw on the top rack. | Flip straw | ||
| 6.8 Its 40-ounce sibling impressed CNN with ice that lasted two days, then broke its lid and warped its body in the drop test, so treat it gently. | Bottle | 30 oz | 24 h Simple Modern says 24+ hours. Not for hot or carbonated drinks. | When the lid is closed. | Yes Simple Modern says the 14 to 30 oz sizes fit most cup holders. | Yes Top rack. | Straw | |
| 8.3 Serious Eats' top tumbler: coldest water after 16 hours, a straw seal that didn't dribble, and it costs well under the big-name 40-ouncers. | Handled tumbler | 40 oz | 24 h Also rated 12 h hot. Coldest tumbler in Serious Eats' 16-hour test (44°F). | Simple Modern calls it leak-resistant; it didn't leak in Serious Eats' tilt test. | Yes | Yes Top rack. | Straw | |
| 5.9 Kept water cold in Serious Eats' test, but nothing about it beats the ProTour, which does the flip-straw job with a lid that locks. | Handled tumbler | 30 oz | Not stated Stanley prints no hour figure; 48°F after 16 hours in Serious Eats' test. | No leakproof claim from Stanley. | Yes | Yes | Flip straw | |
| 7.4 OutdoorGearLab's commuter pick and a perfectly good cold cup, but it's top-heavy, tips easily, and dribbles where the ProTour doesn't. | Handled tumbler | 40 oz | Not stated Stanley prints no hour figure; 50°F after 16 hours in Serious Eats' test. | Stanley sells the rotating lid as spill-resistant, not leakproof. | Yes | Yes | Straw + sip | |
| 8.1 The Stanley to buy: Serious Eats shook it upside down and the locking straw still refused to leak, which the original Quencher can't claim. | Handled tumbler | 40 oz | Not stated Stanley prints no hour figure; 48°F after 16 hours in Serious Eats' test. | Locking straw didn't leak when Serious Eats shook it upside down. | Yes | Yes | Flip straw | |
| 5.1 Decent insulation on paper, but OutdoorGearLab disliked the spout's feel and CNN's smaller Actives trailed on insulation and leaked in long-term use. | Bottle | 32 oz | 24 h Also rated 12 h hot. | No Didn't fit in OutdoorGearLab's testing. | Yes | Spout | ||
| 7.6 The cold and hot champion in Water Bottle Advisor's 46-bottle test, but it's a pour-into-the-cup thermos, not something you sip from on a walk. | Bottle | 40 oz | 24 h Also rated 24 h hot. Best for cold and heat in Water Bottle Advisor's 46-bottle test (+10.8°F in 24 hours, no ice). | When the stopper is closed. | Not claimed No claim from Thermos; 3.7 in wide. | Yes Top rack. | Pour | |
| 8.4 The toughest bottle in CNN's drop tests and OutdoorGearLab's durability pick; you give up some long-haul insulation for one that survives years of drops. | Bottle | 26 oz | Not stated YETI prints no hour figure; CNN Underscored found it last over 48 hours but still at starting temperature at 12. | OutdoorGearLab's review calls the two-part cap leakproof. | No Per OutdoorGearLab's testing. | Yes | Chug | |
| 7.3 Serious Eats' favorite YETI survived many drops and did well tipped over, but it's the heaviest of their picks and among the warmest after 16 hours. | Handled tumbler | 42 oz | Not stated YETI prints no hour figure; 52°F after 16 hours in Serious Eats' test. Straw lid not for hot drinks. | Yes Fits cup holders at least 3 in wide, per YETI. | Yes | Straw |
How the AI score works, and who wrote it
A language model rated these, not a test lab. Every score from 1 to 10 is an AI assessment of how good the product is against the other 20 in this comparison, formed from the specifications we verified plus the published lab reviews and owner reception found while researching each one. Nobody at Slopsheets listened to, wore or plugged in any of it.
It weighs the things a spec table cannot show: how a product is actually reviewed, how well the software works, build quality, and what you get for the money. That is deliberate. An earlier version of this column was pure arithmetic on the table and it ranked a bundle of cheap boxes above a class-leading single unit, because counting hardware is not the same as judging it.
Treat it as an informed starting point and read the sourced comparison, not as a verdict. The score is relative to this comparison only, so it means nothing across categories, and it carries no price, star rating or review count. Every specification behind it is sourced and checked; the score on top of them is opinion.
Frequently asked questions
what does the cold claim column mean?
it's the number of hours the maker prints for keeping drinks cold, usually with ice. we copy it as written; lab results that back it up or undercut it live in the notes.
why do some rows say not stated?
stanley and yeti don't print an hour figure for these products. that's a missing claim, not a weak bottle, and the tests we cite put them close to the field.
does leakproof here mean someone tested it?
no, it means the maker sells it as leakproof. where a lab's tilt or tip test disagreed, or a leak-resistant cup passed anyway, the note on that cell says so.
does a different size change the specs?
sometimes. cup holder fit and weight change with size, so each row is the exact size in its name. check the notes before assuming the 40 oz acts like the 24.
how is the ai score decided?
it's an opinion formed from published reviews and lab results, weighed against this sheet only. it isn't hands-on testing, and it can't be compared with scores on other sheets.