Electric Screwdrivers
every cordless screwdriver we track, one row each, from pocket sticks to 12-volt pistol drivers. sort by torque to see who can sink a screw into a stud, by clutch settings to find the ones that won't strip a cam-lock, or by weight if it lives in a drawer. torque is the maker's hard-joint figure, so treat it as a ceiling.
| 5.9 A basic, comfortable driver for light chores, with the slowest speed here, no clutch and a proprietary charger. | Pistol grip BLACK+DECKER markets it as an 'inline grip', but the angled handle reads as a compact pistol grip. | 4 V | 35 in-lb | 180 rpm | 0 No clutch or torque settings listed by the maker. | 1 lb 1.0 lb per BLACK+DECKER spec table; integrated 1.3Ah 4V MAX battery, so weight includes it. | No USB charging listed by the maker; ships with a dedicated plug-in charger ('C' kit). | |
| 6.6 A cheap, hugely popular pivoting driver with a handy flashlight, let down by no clutch, a dedicated charger and some early-failure reports. | Pivoting Handle pivots into 3 positions (inline to pistol). | 4 V | 49 in-lb BLACK+DECKER UK spec: 5.5 Nm; 5.5 x 8.85 = 48.7, rounded to 49. US site gives no torque figure. | 180 rpm | 0 No clutch listed. | 0.77 lb 0.35 kg per the DEWALT/BLACK+DECKER service database (converted, 0.77 lb); integrated battery. | Ships with a dedicated plug-in charger (UK page lists a 150mA charger); no USB charging. | |
| 6.3 The rotating bit carousel is convenient, but it's heavy for a 4V tool with no clutch, and owners report failing direction switches. | Pistol grip | 4 V | 35 in-lb BLACK+DECKER does not list torque; 35 in-lbs is from the Lowe's spec listing. | 180 rpm | 0 Lowe's lists 0 clutch settings; maker lists none. | 1.42 lb 1.419 lb per Stanley Black & Decker product data; integrated battery. | Stanley Black & Decker data lists a jack-plug charger; no USB charging. | |
| 8.8 The best-judged household driver here: a real seven-step clutch, electronic brake, push-to-drive and USB-C, held back only by deliberately modest torque. | Inline | 3.6 V | 44 in-lb Bosch datasheet: 5 / 2.5 Nm (hard/soft). 5 Nm x 8.85 = 44 in-lb. | 396 rpm Bosch datasheet: 306-396 rpm no-load. | 7 7 clutch settings plus a separate maximum-performance mode (Bosch). | 0.71 lb Bosch lists 0.32 kg 'excl. battery' even though the 2.0Ah battery is built in; true in-hand weight not published. | Charges with any USB-C cable (Bosch; USB-C cable in kit). | |
| 8.3 A proven two-speed pocket driver with near-drill power and a 20-step clutch, though the design is old and stock is thinning. | Pistol grip | 12 V | 265 in-lb | 1,300 rpm Two speeds: 0-350 / 0-1,300 rpm. | 20 20 clutch positions + drill mode (Bosch '20+1'). | 1.4 lb Bosch's figure, 1.4 lb, is tool only. Several retailers list 1.8 lb, likely with battery; not confirmed by Bosch. | Removable 12V Max packs on a dedicated 30-minute charger. | |
| 6.2 Feels like a manual screwdriver with a motor, but it has no clutch, no published torque and dated micro-USB charging. | Inline | 4 V | – CRAFTSMAN does not publish a torque figure (Pro Tool Reviews also lists it as 'not listed'); automatic spindle lock for manual torquing. | 300 rpm | 0 No clutch; simple push-button operation. | 1.2 lb 1.2 lb per Stanley Black & Decker product data and Pro Tool Reviews; integrated 1.5Ah battery. | Micro-USB charging port (cable included, no wall adapter), not USB-C. | |
| 8.4 The FlexDrive collar and six-step clutch make it the most controllable inline stick, with USB-C, at a price above most rivals. | Inline | 4 V | 44 in-lb Powered max torque 44 in-lbs (5 Nm) per DEWALT; manual finishing torque up to 124 in-lbs (14 Nm) via spindle lock. | 360 rpm | 6 6-stage torque adjustment (DEWALT). | 0.7 lb DEWALT does not publish a weight; 0.7 lb is Pro Tool Reviews' figure (integrated battery, so tool weight includes it). | Integrated 2Ah battery; DEWALT footnote: works with USB-C chargers and connectors, cable included. | |
| 7.6 A brushless, compact-headed pro driver with a 15-step clutch that trails its 12V rivals on power, and sold here as a bare tool. | Pistol grip | 12 V | 71 in-lb DEWALT US rates power only as 200 UWO (not torque). DEWALT Australia's page for the same DCF601 says up to 8 Nm; 8 x 8.85 = 70.8, rounded to 71. | 1,100 rpm | 15 DEWALT US spec table: 15 clutch settings (AU copy also mentions a 16-position clutch, i.e. 15 + drill). | 2 lb DEWALT lists 'Lightweight at 2.0 lbs. (Tool Only)'; Pro Tool Reviews lists 2.0 lb with a 2.0Ah battery. Treated as with battery. | Uses swappable 12V MAX slide packs and a dedicated charger. | |
| 7.4 Strong for its size with a nicely kitted case and USB-C, but it's slow and tends to spin in the hand under load. | Inline | 3.7 V 3.7V per Fanttik's Amazon listing (fanttik.com does not state voltage). | 53 in-lb Max hard torque 6 Nm (x 8.85 = 53 in-lb); clutch steps 1.5/3/4.2 Nm; 8 Nm manual. Per fanttik.com. | 220 rpm | 3 3 clutch levels (1.5/3/4.2 Nm) per fanttik.com. | – Fanttik publishes no tool weight; Amazon's 845 g figure is the kit with aluminum case. | USB-C, 2000mAh, 5V/1A. | |
| 7.6 The finest low-end clutch of the sticks (down to 0.5 Nm) and quick USB-C charging, but it has a short track record and mixed durability reports. | Inline | 3.7 V 3.7V per Fanttik's Amazon listing. | 53 in-lb 6 Nm max (x 8.85 = 53 in-lb) per fanttik.com. | 250 rpm | 7 7 settings: 0.5, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 Nm (fanttik.com). | – No tool weight published; Amazon's 2.27 lb is the kit/package. | USB-C 5V/2A, 2000mAh; cannot run while charging. | |
| 5.8 Mostly bought for its 81-piece bit set: low torque, one slow speed, no adjustable clutch and micro-USB charging. | Pivoting | 3.6 V | 35 in-lb Makita UK: 4 Nm max fastening torque; 4 x 8.85 = 35 in-lb. Makita NZ quotes 6 Nm, which is lock (stall) torque. | 220 rpm Single speed, 220 rpm. | 0 No adjustable clutch published by Makita (one UK retailer lists a non-adjustable safety clutch). | 0.79 lb Makita: 0.36 kg net (built-in battery, so this is the in-hand weight) = 0.79 lb. | Built-in 1.5Ah battery charges via AC adapter with Micro USB (Makita UK datafile), not USB-C. | |
| 7.8 The auto-stop clutch and pivoting body make it a precise small-fastener tool, with two removable packs, but there's no variable-speed trigger. | Pivoting | 7.2 V | 71 in-lb Makita USA: 71 in-lb (8 Nm) max; clutch fastening range 32-50 in-lb. | 650 rpm Two speeds, 200 / 650 rpm (no variable-speed trigger). | 21 21 clutch settings + drill mode, with Auto-Stop clutch. | 1.2 lb Makita USA: 1.2 lb net weight with battery. | Removable 7.2V 1.5Ah packs (2 in kit) on a DC10WB charger. | |
| 7.9 Drill-grade torque and two speeds on Makita's CXT packs, but it's a bare tool and has thinner independent coverage than the Milwaukee or Bosch. | Pistol grip | 12 V | 266 in-lb Makita HK/MX: 30 / 14 Nm hard/soft fastening. 30 Nm x 8.85 = 266 in-lb (Makita MX prints 270 in-lb; lock torque 28 Nm / 250 in-lb, the figure Makita USA quotes for the FD10). | 1,700 rpm Two speeds, 0-450 / 0-1,700 rpm. | 20 20 clutch settings + drill mode (Makita Canada catalogue). | 2.1 lb 2.1 lb with 2.0Ah battery per Makita USA for the US twin FD10; Makita MX gives 2.0-2.4 lb depending on pack. | Removable 12V max CXT slide packs; bare tool ships without battery or charger. | |
| 8.6 Out-drives every other screwdriver in independent tests and rides the huge M12 battery family, but it is tall and too strong for delicate work. | Pistol grip | 12 V | 175 in-lb | 500 rpm Single speed, 0-500 rpm. | 15 15 clutch settings + drill mode (Milwaukee '15+1'). | 2 lb Milwaukee overview: 'weighs 2.0 lbs'; its spec table shows 2.26 lb. Neither states whether the battery is included. | Removable M12 REDLITHIUM packs (2x CP1.5 in kit) on a dedicated charger. | |
| 7.3 Twenty-one clutch steps, two speeds and a pivoting handle in a capable little tool, tied to an aging M4 battery system with few siblings. | Pivoting Hands-on review (Home Fixated) describes using it with the handle straight and bent; McMaster-Carr lists a pivoting grip. Some distributors list handle type 'Stick'. Verify against a photo before publishing. | 4 V | 44 in-lb | 600 rpm Two speeds, 200 and 600 rpm. | 21 21-position clutch with auto shut-off. | 0.85 lb Milwaukee: 0.85 lb ('under one pound'); not stated whether the M4 pack is included. | Removable M4 REDLITHIUM 2.0Ah packs on a dedicated M4 charger. | |
| 5.6 Light and cheap with a gimmicky live-wire sensor, but testers found it couldn't drive into a 2x4 without a pilot hole. | Inline | 4 V | – SKIL does not publish torque (not on skil.com, the manual or the 2026 catalog). A distributor listing (aih.com) says 36 in-lb; unverified, so left null. | 230 rpm 230/min per SKIL manual and 2026 catalog. | 0 No clutch; direction is set by a twist collar. | 0.49 lb Amazon listing item weight 7.84 oz (True Value lists 0.485 lb); SKIL publishes no weight. Battery is integrated. | Micro-USB charging (SKIL product page and manual). | |
| 7.2 Well built with a lockable angled head, a clutch and USB-C, but 22 in-lb of torque is the weakest in the table. | Pivoting Head pivots and locks at 0, 22.5 and 45 degrees (not a full 90-degree pistol conversion). | 4 V | 22 in-lb SKIL manual: torque range 3.5-22 in-lb (0.4-2.5 Nm); skil.com labels 22 in-lb as 'Torque (Soft)'. | 240 rpm | 3 | 0.8 lb skil.com 'Tool Weight 0.8 lb'; battery is integrated (not removable). | Integrated 0.8Ah battery, USB-C port (5V, max 1A) per manual. | |
| 8.0 Punches above its price with three torque steps and USB-C, though testers found it short of its torque claim and some batteries fade. | Inline | 4 V Marketed as 4V Max. | 44 in-lb 44 in-lb max hard torque (22 in-lb soft) per WORX Amazon listing, Best Buy and ToolGuyd. Bob Vila's testers felt the 5 Nm claim was an overestimate. | 300 rpm | 3 3 settings tied to 3 speeds; sources disagree on the middle step (33 vs 37 in-lb). | 0.57 lb Amazon listing item weight 9.12 oz (Best Buy lists 0.6 lb). Integrated 1.5Ah battery. | USB-C, about 1.5 h charge. | |
| 6.4 The slide-action bit cartridge and screw holder are genuinely clever, but it has no clutch, little torque and a five-hour barrel-plug charge. | Pistol grip | 4 V 4V Max (manual footnote: nominal 3.6V). | 27 in-lb WX255L manual: 27 in-lb (WORX EU page lists 3 Nm for WX255, consistent). | 230 rpm Manual and WORX EU page: 230/min. Amazon listing says 270 rpm; manual figure used. | 0 No clutch. | 1.1 lb Manual 'machine weight 1.1 lbs'; battery is internal. | Charges via included wall charger (4.2V barrel plug), about 5 h; not USB. |
How the AI score works, and who wrote it
A language model rated these, not a test lab. Every score from 1 to 10 is an AI assessment of how good the product is against the other 19 in this comparison, formed from the specifications we verified plus the published lab reviews and owner reception found while researching each one. Nobody at Slopsheets listened to, wore or plugged in any of it.
It weighs the things a spec table cannot show: how a product is actually reviewed, how well the software works, build quality, and what you get for the money. That is deliberate. An earlier version of this column was pure arithmetic on the table and it ranked a bundle of cheap boxes above a class-leading single unit, because counting hardware is not the same as judging it.
Treat it as an informed starting point and read the sourced comparison, not as a verdict. The score is relative to this comparison only, so it means nothing across categories, and it carries no price, star rating or review count. Every specification behind it is sourced and checked; the score on top of them is opinion.
Frequently asked questions
Why are some torque and weight cells blank?
Because the maker doesn't publish the number. SKIL gives no torque for the SD561201, CRAFTSMAN none for the CMHT66718, and Fanttik lists only kit weights, not tool weights. We leave the cell empty rather than borrow an untraceable retailer figure.
What does a 0 in the clutch settings column mean?
The driver has no adjustable clutch: it keeps turning until you release the button or the motor stalls. Those tools are fine for picture hooks and loose hardware, but easy to over-drive into particleboard.
Is the weight measured with the battery?
Where the maker says so, yes, and built-in batteries are always included by definition. A few makers don't say, or (like Bosch on the GO 3) label a built-in-battery tool 'excluding battery'; the row notes flag each case.
What counts as a pivoting body?
A handle that switches between a straight inline position and a bent pistol position. The SKIL Twist 2.0 only angles to 45 degrees, which we still count, with a note on its row.
Does the AI score account for reliability and battery systems?
Yes. It's a model's judgment drawn from published reviews and owner reports, weighing clutch behavior, battery platform, charging, durability complaints and value against the rest of this table. It isn't hands-on testing.
good for gifts that don't suck